Shami, Rashid Khan strike as CSK posts 51/2 in powerplay

New Delhi: New rules, changed line-ups and a clash between MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya, there is a lot to watch out for as defending champions Gujarat Titans play Chennai Super Kings in the first game. The match will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on March 31 at 7:30 pm.

With the likes of Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Hardik Pandya and Rahul Tewatia, the Titans have a formidable batting line-up and a great bowling attack in Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami and Yash Dayal. While CSK has Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Moeen Ali and Ben Stokes in the top order and Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja and Shivam Dube in the lower-middle order.

While both teams have great batting, it will be a battle of CSK’s batting vs GT’s bowling. Both Dhoni and Pandya are known for smart and risky captaincy, it would be interesting to see the use of Impact Player by them.

LIVE Updates:

# Ruturaj flicks Alzarri Joseph for a six and goes to 44* off 20.

# Ben Stokes depart! Rashid Khan strikes again as Saha takes another low catch and Stokes goes for 7(6).

# Shubam Gill misses a golden chance to runout Gaikwad. A bit of yes-no and in-form Gaikwad was in trouble.

# Ruturaj goes ctrl+c, ctrl+v to hit another six! His score goes to 36* off 15.

# Hardik to Gaikwad and it is a maximum in the V. A full-length delivery and he hits it over mid-off for a six.

# End of the powerplay and CSK stands at 51/2.

# Strikes this time as he finds an edge and Wriddhi Saha takes a low catch behind the stumps. Moeen Ali departs for 23 off 17.

# Rashid Khan strikes, but Moeen Ali reviews and the ball is pitching outside leg, he is safe.

# Beamer and it is called a no-ball. Here goes Moeen with a flat six on the free hit.

# A great drive from Ali to hit Shami for a boundary as he shifts the pressure.

# Moeen opens his account with a four. 19 runs in Little’s over and the score goes to 29/1 in 4 overs.

# Gaikwad welcomes Josh Little to IPL with a six. A bouncer and a well-timed pull.

# Clean bowled! Mohammed Shami does a Shami as he dismisses Devon Conway for 1(6). Great seam position beats Conway as he swings and misses. CSK: 14/1 after 2.2 overs and Moeen Ali comes in to bat.

# Gaikwad just shows the direction to the ball to hit another boundary off Pandya.

# First boundary of the season comes from Gaikwad’s bat as he pushes the ball to long-on.

# Just two runs from the first over of IPL 2023.

# Second ball onto pads and Shami appeals. It’s not out and Ruturaj takes a run.

# Gaikwad and Conway come in to bat and Mohammed Shami has the new ball.

# GT XI: Wriddhiman Saha, Shubman Gill, Kane Williamson, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Josh Little, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal

# CSK XI: Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Rajvardhan Hangargekar

# MSD reveals that CSK will be playing four foreign players in Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Mitchell Santner and Devon Conway.

# GT wins the toss and chooses to bowl first. Teams to be announced soon.

# MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya are having a chat casual chat before the toss.

# Arijit Singh performs his popular melodies at the opening ceremony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *